Exhibition 21.09. – 17.11.2012
at the Eco Design Showroom
A project by Nicole Lehner and Luzia Kälin
www.designasyl.ch

The Project

Enthusiastic about the variety of traditional craftsmanship with its peculiar charm, product designers Nicole Lehner and Luzia Kaelin have attempted to discover new directions for handicrafts.

In intense collaboration with four Swiss craftspeople, a variety of products for everyday use have been developed. The objects emphasise the qualities of the four particular crafts in a specific manner without being constrained by the demands of serial production.

Projekt Handwerk unites traditional craftsmanship with contemporary design and creates modern interpretations of hand-made products. The new forms have given the hand-crafted products a fresh, up-to-date makeover, and in doing so arouse enthusiasm for Swiss crafts and sustainable regional manufacture while furthering the existence of the extraordinary craft techniques.

DESIGNASYL

The product designers Nicole Lehner and Luzia Kaelin, working together under the alias  designasyl, see their responsibility in design as rethinking objects from the their origins – this includes understanding traditional techniques, observing habits, carefully selecting materials, as well as always closely communicating with the manufacturer. They are convinced that hand-crafted and locally manufactured products will lead the way to a better future.

The following specialists supported Projekt Handwerk:

Matteo Gonet, Glassworks GmbH
www.matteogonet.com

Hans Mösli, Weissküferei Mösli
www.weisskueferei-moesli.ch

Petra Haldimann, Manufactura Tessanda Val Müstair
www.tessanda.ch

Tamara Shontshang, ceramist
www.tms-design.ch

Laurin Schaub, ceramist
www.laurinschaub.ch

Christoph Hauri, artist
www.christophhauri.ch

Marianne Brüngger, ceramica d’arte

Financial support

Ausstellung 21.09. – 17.11.2012
im Eco Design Showroom
Ein Projekt von Nicole Lehner und Luzia Kälin
www.designasyl.ch

Das Projekt

Begeistert vom Charme und der Vielfältigkeit des traditionellen Handwerks haben sich die Produktdesignerinnen Nicole Lehner und Luzia Kälin im Rahmen des ‘Projekt Handwerk’ auf die Suche nach neuen Wegen für das Handwerk gemacht.

In intensiver Zusammenarbeit mit vier Schweizer Handwerksbetrieben sind unterschiedliche Produkte für den täglichen Gebrauch entstanden. Die Objekte heben die Qualitäten der jeweiligen Handwerke auf besondere Weise hervor, ohne an die Restriktionen der Serienfertigung gebunden zu sein.

Das ‘Projekt Handwerk’ vereint traditionelle Handwerkstechniken mit zeitgemässem Design und schafft neue Interpretationen von handwerklich gefertigten Produkten. Die neue Form soll den Handwerksprodukten Aktualität und Frische verleihen und so für das Schweizer Handwerk und nachhaltige, regionale Fertigung begeistern und damit das weitere Bestehen der besonderen Handwerkstechniken fördern.

DESIGNASYL

Die Produktdesignerinnen Nicole Lehner und Luzia Kälin agieren gemeinsam als ‘designasyl’. Ihre Verantwortung als Designerinnen sehen sie darin, Objekte von Anfang an neu zu denken – dazu gehört für sie die Auseinandersetzung mit traditionellen Techniken, das Beobachten von Gewohnheiten, eine sorgfältige Materialwahl sowie der enge Austausch mit den Herstellern. Sie sind überzeugt, dass handwerklich gefertigte und lokal hergestellte Produkte der richtige Weg in die Zukunft sind.

Dabei unterstützt haben sie die folgenden Fachleute:

Matteo Gonet, Glassworks GmbH
www.matteogonet.com

Hans Mösli, Weissküferei Mösli
www.weisskueferei-moesli.ch

Petra Haldimann, Manufactura Tessanda Val Müstair
www.tessanda.ch

Tamara Shontshang, Keramikerin
www.tms-design.ch

Laurin Schaub, Keramiker
www.laurinschaub.ch

Christoph Hauri, Künstler
www.christophhauri.ch

Marianne Brüngger, ceramica d’arte

Finanzielle Unterstützung